top of page




The Australian Curriculum is designed to support students to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

Learning at Klemzig Primary School focusses on the 8 learning areas that are determined by the Australian Curriculum. Areas of learning are often integrated to ensure learning is relevant and engaging.

Students in Reception to Year 6 learn in the following curriculum areas:

  • English which includes language, literacy and literature

  • Mathematics which includes number and algebra, measurement and geometry, statistics and probability

  • Science which includes Science understanding, Science as a Human Endeavour and Science Inquiry

  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS) which include History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business

  • The Arts which includes Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts

  • Language, which at Klemzig School is the teaching of Auslan

  • Health and Physical Education which includes personal, social and community health, movement and physical activity

  • Technologies which include Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies


Assessment and Reporting

Data that underpins the reporting on student achievement includes NAPLAN, Running Records, PAT Maths, PAT-R Comprehension, Phonics assessments. Teachers will also use a range of formative assessment strategies when allocating grades for students on the quality of their learning


In the Australian Curriculum, capability encompasses knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions. Students develop capability when they apply knowledge and skills confidently, effectively and appropriately in complex and changing circumstances, in their learning at school and in their lives outside school.

The General Capabilities in the Australian Curriculum are:

  • Literacy

  • Numeracy

  • Information and Communication Technology

  • Critical and Creative Thinking

  • Personal and social capability

  • Ethical understanding and Intercultural understanding

  • The Cross-curriculum Priorities in the Australian Curriculum are:

  • Sustainability

  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and Cultures

bottom of page